Alan Jackson among 2017 Country Music Hall of Fame inductees

Photo: WKRN

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (WKRN ) – The Country Music Association announced Alan Jackson, Jerry Reed and Don Schlitz as this year’s inductees into the Country Music Hall of Fame.

The announcement was made Wednesday morning at the Country Music Hall of Fame.

“For me to say I’m honored sounds like the standard old response, but for a man who loves Country Music, there is no higher honor. This is the mountain top,” Jackson said.

Jackson’s career, whose career spans more than 25 years, is known for his hits such as “Chattahoochee,” “Midnight in Montgomery,” and “Where Were You When the World Stopped Turning?”

During his more than two-decade career, Jackson has released more than 20 albums and collections and celebrated more than 30 No. 1 hits.

Photo: WKRN

Jerry Reed’s career stretched from the 1950s into the 1990s. He continued to tour and make public appearances well into the 2000s.

His best-known hits include, “When You’re Hot, You’re Hot,” “Me & Jerry,” and “Alabama Wild Man,” just to name a few. He got a career boost from Elvis Presley, who not only recorded a few of Reed’s songs, including “Guitar Man,” but also hired him to be his guitar man in the studio as well.

Reed passed away in 2008 from complications related to emphysema at the age of 71.

Don Schlitz is among the most influential and beloved songwriters in the history of country music. His chart-topping songs include “The Gambler,” “When You Say Nothing at All” and “Forever and Ever, Amen.”

Photo: WKRN

His 50 Top 10 singles performed by iconic acts Mary Chapin Carpenter, Alison Krauss, Nitty Gritty Dirt Band, Kenny Rogers, The Judds, Randy Travis, Tanya Tucker, Keith Whitley, and many others include 24 No. 1 Country hits.

He has won three CMA Song of the Year Awards, two Grammy Awards, and four consecutive ASCAP Country Songwriter of the Year trophies (1988-91).

Schlitz was inducted into the Nashville Songwriters Association Hall of Fame in 1993 and the Songwriters Hall of Fame in 2012.

The official ceremony for the newest inductees will be held in October.