Metro expands after-school supper program to help more students

Photo: WKRN

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (WKRN) – Metro announced Monday it is expanding its after-school supper program to help more students in need.

This year is the school district’s third in participating in the program which initially began at just 12 sites. It now serves students at 35 schools.

“In collaboration with the Boys and Girls Club, Nashville After Zone Alliance, YMCA Fun Company and other external providers, we are reaching nearly 2,000 students every afternoon before leaving our schools,” said Metro Schools’ Director of Extended Learning, Jennifer Bell.

Bell continued, “After getting breakfast and lunch at no cost, this third meal ensures students are going home with supper and not just snack meals in the evening. It is a full meal, touching all food groups required for a healthy dinner.”

Meals will be served to students who are enrolled in the applicable after-school programs immediately after dismissal for no cost at the following school for the 2016-2017 school year.

Schools participating in the program include:

  • Antioch Middle School
  • Apollo Middle School
  • Alex Green Elementary School
  • Amqui Elementary
  • Bellshire Elementary
  • Buena Vista Enhanced Option Elementary School
  • Cane Ridge Elementary School
  • Croft Design Center Middle Prep
  • Dan Mills Elementary School
  • Donelson Middle School
  • Eakin Elementary School
  • Glengarry Elementary School
  • Glenview Elementary School
  • Goodlettsville Elementary, 514 Donald Street
  • Hattie Cotton Elementary School
  • Haywood Elementary School
  • Hull-Jackson Elementary School
  • Isaac Litton Middle Prep School
  • J.E. Moss Elementary School
  • John Early Museum Magnet Middle Prep
  • Jones Paideia Elementary Magnet School
  • Margaret Allen Middle Prep School
  • McKissack Middle Prep School
  • McMurray Middle Prep School
  • Meigs Middle Magnet
  • Napier Enhanced Option Elementary School
  • Neely’s Bend Elementary
  • Norman Binkley Elementary School
  • Old Center Elementary
  • Paragon Mills Elementary School
  • Robert Lillard Elementary
  • Rosebank Elementary School
  • Taylor Stratton Elementary
  • Whitsitt Elementary School
  • Wright Middle Prep School

Metro Nashville Public Schools is one of the nation’s top 50 largest school districts with 88,000 students.