Tenn. DUI laws questioned after man with 2 previous charges hits, kills pedestrian

Christopher Solomon (Courtesy: Metro Nashville Police Department)
Christopher Solomon (Courtesy: Metro Nashville Police Department)

HENDERSONVILLE, Tenn. (WKRN) – A community is seeking answers Monday after a Hendersonville man hit two pedestrians, killing one on Saturday.

Driver Chris Solomon was drunk and the wreck was his third drunk driving offense, according to police.

Dineen Cottrell and Robert Pyles of Hendersonville were walking along Donmond Drive picking up items they purchased from a yard sale when Chris Solomon is accused of hitting them with his car.

“She just lost her dad and now she has to deal with this with her mom, it’s heartbreaking,” said Shannon Carter who grew up in the area.

Pyles died of his injuries over the weekend and Cottrell’s medical bills are piling up as she fights for her life.

Friends of the couple created a GoFundMe account to help pay for bills and funeral expenses.

“I don’t know what the law is in Tennessee. I definitely wonder why after three offense, or two offenses, this person was allowed to drive,” said neighbor Brian Aldsworth.

The penalties for a second offense DUI in Tennessee include 45 days to 11 months in jail and up to $3,500 fine. Violators must also attend DUI school and drug and alcohol programs if decided by the court.

People who live in the neighborhood told News 2 they feel it may be time to reevaluate the state’s DUI laws.

“We need to do something about that. Innocent people are being killed,” said neighbor Cladue Weingand.

Click here for more about Tennessee’s DUI law.