Titans name captains for season, Mariota gets nod

Marcus Mariota
Photo: WKRN

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (WKRN) – With the season opener against the Vikings Sunday, the Titans announced Thursday afternoon that they had picked their captains for the season.

“You know it’s a great honor when your teammates reward you with this,” Coach Mike Mularkey said after announcing that the team had voted on two captains for each unit.

On offense, second year quarterback Marcus Mariota will wear a “C” on his jersey, alongside veteran tight end Delanie Walker, who is coming off his first Pro-Bowl.

“I think it’s a great honor. Your peers vote you in, being a captain shows that everything you do out on that field and in this locker room you know they see it and they look up to you,” Walker said.

Defensively, the players voted on their two best pass rushers, linebacker Brian Orakpo, who is already one of the locker room leaders along with Jurrell Casey, who anchors the center of the Titans defensive line.

“It means more than anything being voted by your peers and it really means a lot for how much work and dedication you put into your craft and not only going out there and performing but leading and being a positive role model in the locker room,” Orakpo said.

On special teams, veteran linebacker Wesley Woodyard joins hard-hitting safety Damion Stafford as the fifth and sixth captains for the year.

The captains were determined by a team vote this year. The players picked will lead not only on the field, but also in the locker room.

Comments are closed.