MTSU has 4 players named to Conference USA preseason team

Photo: WKRN

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (WKRN) – There are no second or third teams in Conference USA’s preseason squad, but Middle Tennessee beat the odds having four players named to the preseason All-Conference team.

Quarterback Brent Stockstill, who threw for over 4,000 yards and 30 touchdowns as a freshman, leads the way with wide receiver Richie James joining him.

James set a freshman record with 108 receptions for over 1,300 yards in 2015 and is looking for another big season after becoming more than a blip on the conference radar.

Senior lineman Maurquice Shakir rounds out the offensive selections for the Blue Raiders, while defensive back Jeremy Cutrer is the lone representative on the defensive side of the ball.


Offensive Player of the Year
Nick Mullens, Sr., QB, Southern Miss

Defensive Player of the Year

Trey Hendrickson, Sr., DE, Florida Atlantic

Special Teams Player of the Year

Jonathan Barnes, Jr., K, Louisiana Tech
Dalton Schomp, Sr., P, Florida Atlantic

QB Brent Stockstill, So., Middle Tennessee
QB Nick Mullens, Sr., Southern Miss
RB Kalif Phillips, Sr., Charlotte
RB Ray Lawry, Jr., Old Dominion
RB Ito Smith, Jr., Southern Miss
RB Aaron Jones, Sr., UTEP
RB Jarveon Williams, Sr., UTSA
RB Anthony Wales, Sr., WKU
OL Michael Montero, Sr., FIU
OL Reggie Bain, Jr., Florida Atlantic
OL Darrell Brown, Sr., Louisiana Tech
OL David Mahaffey, Sr., Louisiana Tech
OL Michael Selby, Sr., Marshall
OL Clint Van Horn, Sr., Marshall
OL Maurquice Shakir, Sr., Middle Tennessee
OL Cameron Tom, Sr., Southern Miss
OL Forrest Lamp, Sr., WKU
OL Will Hernandez, Jr., UTEP
TE Jonnu Smith, Sr., FIU
TE Ryan Yurachek, Jr., Marshall
WR Trent Taylor, Sr., Louisiana Tech
WR Richie James, So., Middle Tennessee
WR Zach Pascal, Sr., Old Dominion
WR Taywan Taylor, Sr., WKU


DL Larry Ogunjobi, Sr., Charlotte
DL Trey Hendrickson, Sr., Florida Atlantic
DL Jaylon Ferguson, So., Louisiana Tech
DL Gary Thompson, Sr., Marshall
DL Rashaad Coward, Sr., Old Dominion
DL Dylan Bradley, Sr., Southern Miss
DL Nick Usher, Sr., UTEP
DL Marcus Davenport, Jr., UTSA
LB Anthony Wint, Jr., FIU
LB Azeez Al-Shaair, So., Florida Atlantic
LB TJ Ricks, Sr., Old Dominion
LB Alex Lyons, Sr., Rice
LB D’Nerius Antoine, Sr., Southern Miss
LB Alvin Jones, Jr., UTEP
DB Ocie Rose, So., Florida Atlantic
DB Jalen Young, So., Florida Atlantic
DB Xavier Woods, Sr., Louisiana Tech
DB Jeremy Cutrer, Sr., Middle Tennessee
DB Kishawn McClain, Jr., North Texas
DB Justice Davila, Jr., Old Dominion
DB Picasso Nelson Jr., Jr., Southern Miss
DB Michael Egwuagu, Sr., UTSA

Special Teams

K Jonathan Barnes, Jr., Louisiana Tech
P Dalton Schomp, Sr., Florida Atlantic
KR Kylen Towner, Jr., WKU
PR Warren Redix, So., UTEP
LS Darrell Travis, Sr., Louisiana Tech

Comments are closed.