Tennessee residents urged to practice safe debris burning

(Photo: WKRN)

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) – The Tennessee Department of Agriculture Division of Forestry is urging residents to practice safe debris burning.

The agency requires burn permits Oct. 15 through May 15.

State Forester Jere Jeter says it’s important for people to know when, where and how to conduct a debris burn.

If a person is burning a leaf or brush pile that is smaller than 8 feet by 8 feet in size, log on to http://www.burnsafetn.org for approval.

For a larger burn, individuals are encouraged to apply for a free permit by calling their local Division of Forestry burn permit phone number Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Phone numbers can be found by visiting http://www.burnsafetn.org.

Burning without a permit is a Class C misdemeanor punishable by up to 30 days in jail.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s