8 Franklin businesses caught selling alcohol to minor

Agents with the Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission ran an undercover operation in Franklin to find out which businesses would sell alcohol to minors.

The operation focused on both retail locations and businesses that sell alcohol by the drink.

Of the 20 businesses the TABC visited, eight businesses, or 40%, were cited for selling alcohol to an undercover operative with the commission.

Businesses and employees who sell alcohol to minors face fines, criminal charges and the possible loss of their liquor license.

At Brinkman's Wine and Spirits on International Drive a clerk was cited for selling liquor to an undercover minor.

“People make mistakes,” owner Tim Brinkman said “He is a good clerk. It was just one of those unfortunate incidents.”

Brinkman said his business has never been cited for selling to a minor before.

“Ultimately it is our responsibility to check to make sure the person buying alcohol is 21 years or older so we accept responsibility,” he said. “That's all we can do.”

At Cool Springs Brewery owner Chris Hartland said the employee who served the undercover minor was terminated.

He was printing a new sign to hang in the restaurant for the employees.

The sign showed the day's date and the year that a person would have to be born on or before to be 21 years old or older.

Hartland said his employees were also being instructed to card everyone who looked to be 40 years old or younger.

He said his business had never been cited for serving minors before.

According to the TABC, agents pick locations based on complaints from the public or if agents have not performed a compliance check in the area recently.

Businesses caught selling liquor to minors can be fined $1,500 for the first offense.

Subsequent offenses can lead to the suspension and the revocation of the business' liquor license.

The employee who sells the liquor to the minor faces misdemeanor charges and the loss of their permit to serve liquor.

The employee could be sentenced to up to 11 months and 29 days in jail.

Click here to see which businesses were cited by The Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission and which passed the compliance check.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s