Music City celebrates 11th Annual Americana Music Awards

Music City celebrates 11th Annual Americana Music Awards (Image 1)

Stars took over the Ryman Auditorium Wednesday night for the 11th annual Americana Music Honors and Awards show.

The night began with performances by Tom T Hall, Leanne Womack and Peter Cooper.

Many musicians and artists were honored throughout the evening.

Bonnie Raitt, Booker T. Jones and songwriter Richard Thompson all received Lifetime Achievement Awards.

The award for Best New Emerging Artist went to American rock band Alabama Shakes and the Best Group of the Year award went to The Civil Wars.

The Americana Music Awards includes a celebration of music unique to each artist.

“That could be blues, bluegrass country, western music, rock and roll… pop,” Bonnie Raitt explained.  “I've always been really eclectic so I'm glad that they put a name to something that really encompasses what a lot of us who have those wide ranging tastes and it's hard to only get play on one thing or another so this is where we feel most at home.”

John Paul White of The Civil Wars told Nashville's News 2, “What we do typically has the lines blurred between country music and bluegrass and gospel music but also pop music and folk music and rock and roll and I feel like somewhere within all those constraints is where Americana lies.”

Wednesday's show was part of the Americana Music Festival taking over Music City through September 15.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s