Burn bans issued amid hot, dry conditions

Burn bans issued amid hot, dry conditions (Image 1)

Many counties in the state of Tennessee remain under burn bans due to the recent hot and dry conditions.  

The ban, issued by State Agriculture Commissioner Julius Johnson, is Carroll, Cheatham, Crockett, Dickson, Fentress, Gibson, Giles, Henderson, Marshall, Maury, Montgomery, Overton, Rutherford, Sevier, Sumner, Trousdale, Williamson and Wilson counties among others. It is effective immediately and will remain in place until further notice.

The ban applies to all open-air burning including leaf and woody debris and construction burning, campfires, outdoor grills and other fire activity outside of municipalities where local ordinances apply.

“We're working with local officials to take action when requested and where appropriate to reduce the risk to citizens, property and emergency workers,” Johnson said.  “With the extremely dry conditions and little prospect for rain anytime soon, we want to encourage the public to use good judgment and to avoid situations that can cause fire, even in areas not covered under a burn ban.”

A violation of a burn is considered reckless burning and is punishable as a Class A misdemeanor which carries a fine of $2,500 and/or up to 11 months 29 days in jail.

The burn ban does not prohibit the use of fireworks.

However, citizens should check for local restrictions and are encouraged to attend public displays as an alternative to shooting fireworks themselves for the Fourth of July holiday.

In areas not under a burn ban, the public is asked to refrain from debris burning until significant precipitation is received and to avoid other activities that could cause fire.

Read more at BurnSafeTN.org.

The following communities have also issued burn bans:

Bell Buckle
Carroll County
Cheatham County
Clay County
City of Erin
Crockett County
Fentress County
Gibson County
Giles County
Henderson County
Humphreys County
La Vergne
Macon County
Marshall County
Maury County
Montgomery County
Moore County
Overton County
Robertson County
Rutherford County
Seiver County
Spring Hill
Sumner County
Stewart County
Trousdale County
Warren County
White Bluff
Williamson County
Wilson County

The following communities have issued burn bans to include fireworks:

Dickson (within city limits)
Burns (within city limits)
Charlotte (within city limits)
Clarksville (within city limits)
Moore County
Stewart County
Sumner County
White House


Note: Fireworks are illegal in Metro Nashville and Davidson County.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s