Some Mid. Tenn. residents may receive new area code

Some Mid. Tenn. residents may receive new area code (Image 1)

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Some Middle Tennesseans who have a 615 area code could see their phone numbers change in the upcoming years.

Due to a shrinking supply of new 615 numbers, the Tennessee Regulatory Authority is forced to oversee the addition of a new area code for Middle Tennessee.

Currently, Williamson, Wilson, Sumner, Rutherford, Trousdale, Davidson, Cheatham and nine other counties use the 615 area code.

Though the number of counties using the 615 area code could change under one of two options the TRA is considering.

The first option is to create a new area code which would be given to all new phone numbers being added to the area.

Under the first option, everyone would have to dial all 10 numbers to make a call, even if they're calling next door.

The second option would split the 615 area into two area codes.

According to David Foster from the TRA, everyone in the area with the new area code would have to change their phone numbers.

Foster told Nashville's News 2 that the TRA welcomes input from the community.

The proposed area code change is not expected to occur until at least 2013.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s